2023-2024 PROPERTY TAX &
ASSESSMENT INFORMATION

+ Bend-La Pine School District: Voters approved a $249.7
million bond for 25 years.

o Sisters School District: Voters renewed the $0.75 per
$1,000 of assessed value, five-year local option levy.

« Sisters Park and Recreation District: Voters renewed
the $0.15 per $1,000 of assessed value, five-year local
option levy.

+ Redmond Area Parks and Recreation District: Voters
approved a $49 million bond for 21 years.

+ La Pine Rural Fire Protection District: Voters approved
a new $0.64 per $1,000 of assessed value, five-year local
option levy.

CHANGES:

o Deschutes County: increased their requested levy from
$1.2183 to $1.2783 per $1,000 of assessed value.

¢ Deschutes County Rural Law Enforcement District:
increased their requested levy from $1.43 to $1.55 per
$1,000 of assessed value.

¢ Deschutes Countywide Law Enforcement District:
increased their requested levy from $1.05 to $1.25 per
$1,000 of assessed value.

* Sun Mountain Special Road District: increased their
requested levy from $3.00 to $3.25 per $1,000 of
assessed value.

* River Bend Special Road District: increased their
requested levy from $25,000 to $25,750.

Deschutes County Assessor
(541) 388-6508
1300 NW Wall Street #204, Bend

www.deschutes.org/assessor
assessor@deschutes.org

Changes affecting 2023-2024 tax statements Assessor's Office Contact Information

Have questions, please email:

¢ Appraisal/valuation: appraisal@deschutes.org.

¢ Business personal property:
personalproperty@deschutes.org

e Other: assessor@deschutes.org.

You can reach Assessor’s Office staff at (541) 388-6508,
Monday to Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

To view your account, please visit: dial.deschutes.org

Tax Office Information

Please see the reverse side of this page for Tax Office
information, including payment options and mailing
address change instructions.

Upcoming Town Hall Meetings

Come meet Scot Langton, your County Assessor, and his team
to learn how we appraise property and determine values.

Oregon Senior and Disabled Citizen Program e LaPine: Nov. 1, 5 p.m., 16345 6th Street, City Hall

New! You may now file between April 16 and December
1, with a late filing fee. Disabled heirs may qualify
without paying prior deferred tax debt.

This program is available to seniors who will be 62 or older
by April 15, 2024. If you are not yet 62 but are receiving
Federal Social Security Disability, you may qualify.

There have been significant changes to this program and
there is an income limitation to qualify. Applications must
be delivered to the Assessor’s Office by April 15, 2024.

Under these programs, the State of Oregon pays taxes for
you and places a lien on the property that accrues 6%
interest annually. These amounts are deferred and are
payable upon disqualification from the program.

If you are on or have applied for senior deferral and still
have questions, please contact the Oregon Department of
Revenue at (503) 945-8348 or (800) 356-4222.

Disabled Veteran or Surviving Spouse of a

Veteran — Tax Exemption Program

Veterans who are 40% or more disabled, or surviving
spouses who have not remarried, may be entitled to a
reduction in property taxes. Applications are required; the
filing deadline is April 1, 2024.

e Bend: Nov. 2, 5 p.m., 1300 NW Wall Street, DeArmond
Room

e Redmond: Nov. 6, 5 p.m., 411 SW 9th Street, City Hall

e Sisters: Nov. 9, 5 p.m., 520 E Cascade Avenue, City Hall

Questions or concerns about your property’s

value? Think you may need to APPEAL?

If you have a question or concern regarding your property's
value, please contact the Assessor’s Office at (541) 388-6508 or
email appraisal@deschutes.org.

We welcome the opportunity to explain your values, review
your account and, if necessary, walk you through the steps on
how to appeal your value.

All property is valued as of January 1, 2023, so keep that in
mind when providing evidence or discussing the condition of
your home.

You may appeal your property’s value for the 2023-24 tax year
with the Board of Property Tax Appeals. Appeals must be filed
no later than January 2, 2024. Please refer to the back of your
tax statement for more information or call the County Clerk’s
Office at (541) 388-6549.

To request this information in an alternate format, please call (541) 388-6540 or email accessibility@deschutes.org.


mailto:personalproperty@deschutes.org

TAX PAYMENT OPTIONS

Deschutes County Tax Office
(541) 388-6540

1300 NW Wall Street #203, Bend
www.deschutes.org/tax
taxoffice@deschutes.org

No more waiting for statements to arrive

Pay by mail

Mail your payments in the envelope provided or to Deschutes
County Tax Collector, PO Box 7559, Bend, OR 97708-7559.

Payments must be postmarked no later than Wednesday,
Nov. 15 in order to be eligible for the discount.

Interest will begin to accrue on Dec. 16.

(ORS 305.820, ORS 311.505)

If you are mailing your payment close to the due date and
using the USPS, it is advised that you get a hand-stamped
postmark or receipt from the post office showing your
payment was mailed on or before the due date.

The postmark is not applied until it reaches a distribution
center, which is not at your local post office.

in the mail. Instructions on how to sign-up
for email statements are available on the
enclosed flyer. Your authorization code is
printed on your tax statement.

Pay online

You can pay your taxes online at www.deschutes.org/tax.

Visa, Mastercard, American Express and Discover credit cards,
Visa and Mastercard debit cards and electronic checks are
accepted.

Convenience fees apply. Visa and Mastercard debit cards will
be charged a flat fee of $3.95 per transaction. All other debit
card and all credit card payments will be charged 2.5% of the
payment amount with a minimum fee of $2 per transaction.

eCheck payments will be charged $2 per transaction or $20, if
the payment is greater than $500,000. Deschutes County does
not collect or retain any portion of the convenience fee.

Pay with online bill pay

A separate payment should be scheduled for each tax account
using the six-digit tax account number. These payments are
posted as of the date the funds are received.

Payments should be made well in advance of the due date as
they are often received several days after your scheduled due
date.

If you have questions about your delivery date, contact your bank.
IF FUNDS ARE RECEIVED AFTER NOV. 15, THE DISCOUNT WILL
BE LOST. INTEREST WILL BEGIN TO ACCRUE ON DEC. 16.

Pay by phone

Call (866) 871-5856 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, to pay
using a debit or credit card or an electronic check.

The same fees apply as payments made online.

Please have your six-digit tax account number and amount
you are paying ready before calling.

Address Changes

All address change requests must be made in writing (ORS
308.212). Address changes can be noted on the remittance
portion of your property tax statement or made online at
www.deschutes.org/tax.

Pay at our drop boxes

Use our convenient drive-up drop box located at the front of
our building, 1300 NW Wall Street, Bend, (enter on the Wall
Street side). Look for the white box labeled Property Tax
Payments. The drop box is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a
week.

Redmond location, 411 SW 9th Street, in the parking lot
behind City Hall. Entrance on Deschutes Avenue. This box is
open Oct. 25 - Nov. 15, Jan. 25 - Feb. 15, and April 25 - May 15.

Pay in person

Make your payment in person at 1300 NW Wall Street, Suite
203, (2nd Floor) in Bend, Monday through Friday from 8 a.m.
to5p.m.

You may also email your address change to
taxoffice@deschutes.org.
Please include your six-digit tax account number.

Escrowed Property Taxes

It is the Property Owner’s responsibility to know if the
lender will be paying the taxes.

Generally, if you receive a yellow statement from the County, a
lender has requested your information and will be making
payment. If you receive a green statement, no lender has
requested your information. If in doubt, please contact your
lender.

We're open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
We will be closed on Friday, Nov. 10, in observance of Veterans'
Day and are closed on all major holidays.

To request this information in an alternate format, please call (541) 388-6540 or email accessibility@deschutes.org.



