

Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee

P.O. Box 6005 117 NW Lafayette Avenue Bend, Oregon 97708-6005 (541)388-6575 FAX (541)385-1764 http://www.co.deschutes.or.us/cdd/

Big Chainring Awards

Big Chainring Awards have been given annually since 1996 by the Deschutes County Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee (BPAC) to honor individuals, businesses, organizations, and agencies that have made extraordinary efforts to advance bicycling and walking in Deschutes County. The Committee also has the "Peter Hanson Memorial Award" for an outstanding volunteer individual. Peter was a Committee member who lost his battle with cancer in 2005; his presence was felt in many Central Oregon volunteer efforts.

Past winners include:

<u>2013</u>: Andy Barram – "Peter Hanson Memorial Award", Rick Root (City of Bend) – "Lifetime Achievement Award", Ken Cardwell, City of Sisters (Paul Bertagna), Bicycle Re-Source of Bend (Jeff Schuler), West Bend Property Company, Redmond Area Parks and Recreation District (Katie Hammer and Board of Directors)

<u>2012</u>: Gary Guttormsen – "Peter Hanson Memorial Award", Tom Holt, Commute Options (Brian Potwin), Sisters Area Chamber of Commerce (Erin Borla), City of Bend Police Department (Lt. Chris Carney)

<u>2011</u>: Chris Kratsch – "Peter Hanson Memorial Award", Cassondra Schindler, Bend Endurance Academy (Bill Warburton), Bike Around Bend (Lucas Freeman), City of Bend Transportation Engineer (Robin Lewis)

<u>2010</u>: David Blair – "Peter Hanson Memorial Award", Peter Werner, Old Mill District, City of Sisters (Community Development and Public Works Departments)

<u>2009</u>: John Rahm – "Peter Hanson Memorial Award", J.C. Lizza, Cascade Couriers, Bend-La Pine School District

2008: Kim Curley, Sunriver Police Department Bicycle Patrol

2007: Jeff Sims – "Peter Hanson Memorial Award", Strictly Organic, Cheryl Howard

<u>2006</u>: Jerry Norquist – "Peter Hanson Memorial Award", Shevlin Commons (Andy Crosby), Bob Woodward

<u>2005</u>: Jani Sutherland, Eurosports (Brad Boyd), Bureau of Land Management (BLM) Recreation Staff, The Oregon Bicycle Ride - Sandy Green (Chairperson)

<u>2004</u>: Village Bike Shop, Phil Meglasson (Special Achievement), Sisters Trail Committee, Beth-Ann Wesley, City of Bend Street Crew

<u>2003</u>: Jeff Monson, Hutch's Bike Shop, Karen Swirsky (Special Achievement), Bend Police Dept.

2002: Brooks Resources, County Road Dept., US Forest Service

2001: Deborah Hogan, Al Dertinger, Bend Public Works, Royal Blend

2000: Muffy Roy, Steve Jorgensen, Dr. Ted Ford, Central Oregon Trail Alliance

- 1999: Reid Seastrand, Dick Johnson, Bend Parks and Rec. Dept.
- 1998: Rick Root, Partnership for Pilot Butte, and Foot Zone

1997: Tennant Developments, Mt. Bachelor Inc., City of Bend Planning, Redmond Canyon & Bicycle/Pedestrian Committee

1996: Sunnyside Sports, St. Charles Medical Center, Dale Allen, John Schubert